att_abstract={{Indices for site prioritization are widely 2 used to address the
question: which sites are most important for conservation of
biodiversity? We investigate the theoretical underpinnings of
target-based prioritization, which measures sites' contribution to
achieving predetermined conservation targets. We show a strong
connection between site prioritization and the mathematical theory of
voting power. Current site prioritization indices are afflicted by
well-known paradoxes of voting power: a site can have zero priority
despite having non-zero habitat (the paradox of dummies) and discovery
of habitat in a new site can raise the priority of existing sites (the
paradox of new members). These paradoxes arise because of the razor's
edge nature of voting, and therefore we seek a new index that is not
strictly based on voting. By negating such paradoxes, we develop a set
of intuitive axioms that an index should obey. We introduce a simple
new index, "fraction-of-spare," that satisfies all the axioms. For
ingle-species site prioritization, the fraction-of-spare(s) of a site
s equals zero if s has no habitat for the species and one if s is
essential for meeting the target area for the species.  In-between
those limits it is linearly interpolated, and equals area(s) / (total
area - target). In an evaluation involving multi-year scheduling of
site acquisitions for conservation of forest types in New South Wales
under specified clearing rates, fraction-of-spare outperforms 58
existing prioritization indices. We also compute the optimal schedule
of acquisitions for each of three evaluation measures (under the
assumed clearing rates) using integer programming, which indicates
that there is still potential for improvement in site prioritization
for conservation scheduling.
	att_authors={sp8212, aa1327, da1287, dj1576},
	att_copyright_notice={{The definitive version was published in Biological Conservation (Elsevier). {{, Volume 143}}{{, 2010-07-01}}}},
	author={Steven Phillips and Aaron Archer and David Applegate and David Johnson and Robert Pressey and Desmond Torkornoo and Matthew Watts},
	institution={{Biological Conservation}},
	title={{Voting power and target-based site prioritization}},